Please use the information below to upgrade from Version 6.5.x (6.5.0 - 6.5.1) to Version 6.7.3.
This section provides information about changes from version 6.5.x (6.5.0 - 6.5.1) to 6.7.3.
You can learn about what's new in Version 6.7.3 by reading the Features and Fixes pages. You can also request a Personal Live Trial on our web site. Within one business day we will set up a workgroup exclusively for your use on one of our web servers. All you need is a web browser.
There are no configuration changes you need to make prior to upgrade. To maintain backward compatibility most new features are not enabled during the upgrade. Instead, you can enable them as you see fit after the upgrade is complete. The only thing you need to do prior to upgrade is to make a backup of your installation.
The applet used to generate charts in Tracker has been signed to comply with the requirements for using newer versions of Java. When you run a chart, a message will be displayed asking if you would like to run the application (chart). You can check a box to keep this message from being displayed again in the future and click Run to see the chart. For more information about how to set up Java and your browser to run Tracker charts, please review this Knowledge Base article.
The color scheme and icons used in NetResults Tracker are upgraded to a modern "flat" user interface consistent with the latest versions of Microsoft Windows, Apple Mac OS & iOS, and Google Android. This is done by installing a new set of icons and adding a new Version 6 Flat Theme to Color Preferences. If you prefer your Color Preferences as they were before upgrade, login to the workgroup as Admin and change the Theme setting in Color Preferences to Before Upgrade and click OK. If you would like to try some slight variations on the new Version 6 Flat theme (or any other built-in theme, including Before Upgrade) you can do so without losing those settings. In this release, any changes made to a built-in theme will be saved as
The order of the icons in the Button Bar has been changed to better group similar operations together. All of the record level operations (Add, View, Task, Edit, Discuss, Delete) are now grouped together and all of the reporting operations (Search/Query, Metrics, History) are grouped together. We've found this accelerates the learning curve for new users. If desired, the order can be changed back to how it was before the upgrade by logging in as Admin, clicking on the Admin icon, clicking on the General Preferences link, changing the Button Bar Ordering option to "Legacy" and clicking OK to save the changes.
If the Display Field Help options in General Preferences were configured to display a yellow question mark next to each field (on View or Add/Edit/Task or Submit page), the yellow icons are no longer displayed and users can now get Field Help by simply hovering over the Field Label (instead of hovering on the yellow icon). If you had disabled Field Help or were using one of the options to always display Field Help (the default), there is no change in how Field Help is displayed after upgrade.
If you are using the Submit Page for Unregistered Users, a new privilege, Add via Submit Page, has been added and enabled for all user groups selected in the Unregistered User Options in General Preferences to maintain backward compatibility. This new privilege allows finer grain control over which Projects/Forms are available on the Submit Page for adding new records or linking to existing records.
Any user accounts that contain the following characters in the First Name or Last Name of the user's profile information will be replaced with an alternate character during the upgrade process: " (double quote), \ (back slash) or ~ (tilde). " (double quote) will be replaced with ' (single quote), \ (back slash) will be replaced with / (forward slash), and ~ (tilde) will be replaced with - (hyphen).
If you are upgrading from Version 6.5.1, any Float, Integer or YesNo fields configured as task fields with Input Type set to "Required" and Initialize set to "No" in your data will be changed such that they are configured with Input Type set to "Optional" and Initialize set to "No". This was done so that the field will not force the user to change the value of the field (it behaves as it is in Version 6.5.1).
If you are upgrading from Version 6.5.1 and the Reporter field is configured as a task field with Input Type set to "Required", the field will be changed such that it is configured with Input Type set to "Optional". This was done so that the field will not force the user to change the value of the field (it behaves as it is in Version 6.5.1).
Your system has now been upgraded to Version 6.7.3 for all workgroups.